1 in a 100 Competition – 2015

1 in a 100 Competition – 2015

We had 25 images going into the 1 in a 100 competition, which took place Thursday, 9th April, at Moot House, The Stow, Harlow, home of Harlow Photographic Society.

For anyone who doesn’t know this competition, four camera clubs get together,  25 images each, and there’s just one winner, the best of the lot.  It’s a great opportunity to see what other members of the Federation are up to…

The judging was by Bob Norris.

The great news is that Caroline Preece with her excellent image of Brighton Pier won.

That’s not all! Whilst there shouldn’t really have been any other images placed the judge did, unofficially, state his 1, 2, 3, 4 which included Stephanie Waterman (3rd) for her Harvest Mouse image and Matt Russell for his Alien Apple – winner of round 3 of the Walker Projected.

The next external competition we will be unstoppable!!!

03_Caroline Preece_Brighton Pier

harvest mouse stephanie waterman

matt russell alien apple

Walker Trophy – Round 3 – 2015

Walker Trophy – Round 3 – 2015

The final round (of three) of the Walker Trophy for projected images took place on Monday evening.

Another great evening and another superb winning image. Congratulations Matt Russell for his winning image.

First Place – Matt Russell – Alien Apple

matt russell alien apple


Second Place – Antony Wakefield – Sheringham

antony wakefield sheringham


Third Place – Mick Ralph – Summer Shadows

mick ralph


Fourth Place – Philip Atkinson – Off The Kicker

philip atkinson


All Images Entered

[justified_image_grid preset=4 overlay_icon=on orderby=rand developer_link=hide]


Camera Craft Cup – 2015

Camera Craft Cup – 2015

The Camera Craft Cup is an inter-club projected image competition between 8 camera clubs.

This year it was held on Thursday 19th March at Enfield Camera Club.

Here are the results: in a pretty closely-fought contest, Edmonton won (well, why not, it’s their 70th anniversary and all that…) and WDPS came joint third, with Loughton, out of 8 in total.

Edmonton CC 111 points
Southgate 109 points
Loughton CC 105 points
W&DPS 105 points
Muswell Hill 104 points
Potters Bar PS 101 points
Hoddesdon CC 101 points
Enfield 98 points

The points per image were as follows:

Bleak house – Andrew Robinson 15 points
Breakwater – Antony Wakefield 19 points (held back)
Fidelity – Antony Wakefield 19 points (held back)
Hope Valley – John Cross 17 Points
Skaters – Teresa Elwes 18 points
Tyne Reflections – Philip Atkinson 17 points

Our selection of images primarily reflected success in the Walker Trophy this year.




Walker Trophy – Round 2 – 2015

Walker Trophy – Round 2 – 2015

Another superb competition yesterday evening with 70 images on view and great quality of images in depth.

Congratulations to Terese Elwes for her winning image Skaters.

wdps teresa elwes

In second place was Antony Wakefield with his image Breakwater.

wdps camera club competiton

In third place was Ian Waterman with his image The Charge of the Light Brigade.

charge of the light brigade

And finally, in 4th place was Philip Atkinson with his image Wilted Flowers.

philip atkinson photographer


All images from the competition are set out below. Write in the comments your favourite image, or images.

[justified_image_grid preset=4 orderby=rand mouse_disable=yes]

Walker Trophy – 2015 – Round 1

Walker Trophy – 2015 – Round 1

The first competition of the year and we have a winner who has not won a round of the Walker Trophy before – Congratulations to Andrew Robinson with his excellent image Bleak House.

The competition highlighted some great Walthamstow photography.

01_Andrew Robinson_Bleak House

In second place was John Cross with Hope Valley Cement Works.

01_john cross_Hope valley cement works

In third place was Philip Atkinson with Reflections of the Tyne.

03_Philip Atkinson_4 in the Afternoon

Coming in fourth was Ian Waterman with Doe Eyed and Cross Eyed.

03_Ian Waterman_Doe Eyed and Cross Eyed

Walker Projected Round 3 2014

Walker Projected Round 3 2014

The third and final round of the Walker Trophy (projected) 2014 saw another great entry with 57 images submitted for judging.

1st     Carolyn Barber – Splash

2nd   William Bougourd – Man Muscle

3rd    Matt Russell – Say Cheese

4th    Philip Atkinson – Infinity Bridge

and remember the first round of the Walker Trophy (Prints) is on the 7th April 2014.

If you are interested in learning about photography check out our course